Two Offerings – Weekly Writing Challenge: Fifty

Weekly Writing Challenge: Fifty

This week’s The Daily Post writing challenge is hosted by Vincent Mars. The challenge is to write a story of exactly 50 words in length – no more, no less. 

I wrote two – but since it’s getting late, I will stop here. I plan to do this again though – found it fun & intriguing 😉 Great way to come up with material for new projects!

ISABELL

Isabell was an easy going, patient, free spirit stuck in an over-organized, intolerant, overachiever’s body. The combination just didn’t mesh, so consequently Isabell was at odds with herself, seldom at peace, sometimes conflicted. Her conscience and righteousness didn’t walk hand in hand with her survival of the fittest street smarts.

The Moment Was Gone

He left her an instant message that said he hadn’t come back to see how she was and say goodbye. He had come back to ask her to marry him, and leave with him to start their new life together. But she had already fallen in love with another man.

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: too regal to reach fifty | litadoolan
  2. Trackback: Cinquante / Fifty | Leeloo Rocks
  3. Trackback: First Bite at the Cherry: Weekly Writing Challenge | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  4. Trackback: First Bite at the Cherry: Weekly Writing Challenge | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  5. Trackback: Weekly challenge: Fifty | Speaking Voiceless
  6. smilempsn
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 01:35:37

    I liked the second entry..

    I Miss You (50 words)

    Like

    Reply

  7. Trackback: The 19th of April 1845 – Albany, New York | Forgotten Correspondence
  8. Trackback: Story Of My Life | Views Splash!
  9. Trackback: The Sanctum | The Arctic Tern
  10. litadoolan
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 03:39:45

    Evocative work.

    Like

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Fifty for a Story | Wired With Words
  12. Trackback: Her First Word [50-WORD STORY] | Ramisa the Authoress
  13. Trackback: Fifty (1): Straight. | Vagrant Contradictions
  14. Trackback: Our Inevitable Return | Vagrant Contradictions
  15. Trackback: Joshua Tree National Park, February 2014 | Vagrant Contradictions
  16. Trackback: Stunned—Fifty Words Story | DESIRABLE PURITY
  17. Trackback: Healer | Another Red Letter Day
  18. Trackback: A Soldier’s Eternity | Vagrant Contradictions
  19. Trackback: Stories from the Skyline | Vagrant Contradictions
  20. Trackback: Clean Slate | Vagrant Contradictions
  21. Trackback: Things to Do Around Los Angeles | Vagrant Contradictions
  22. Trackback: The Liturgy of the Damned | Vagrant Contradictions
  23. Trackback: My Second Ever “Fifty”! | The Hempstead Man
  24. Trackback: The meeting. (Fifty Challenge) | chey being
  25. Trackback: Trust. A Fifty. | The Hempstead Man
  26. Trackback: Trust. A Fifty. | The Hempstead Man
  27. charlypriest
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 06:30:36

    I like this 50 word challenge, you did great ofcourse. I should try it on my own.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • ~ Sadie ~
      Jan 27, 2015 @ 01:19:53

      Thanks Charly & you should try it! Would love to read yours! At first, I thought it would be difficult, as I tend to be quite wordy at times – but it is a great exercise in succinctness & getting to the point attempting to use the most efficient language. Actually, I need to do it again here soon . . . glad you commented to bring it back on my radar 🙂

      Like

      Reply

      • charlypriest
        Jan 27, 2015 @ 03:57:03

        Was my pleasure, you´re a great writer. I´m just human and don´t have the hours of the day to read you as much as I can. But now with the broken ankle and sitting around all day, except today and tomorrow, weeee ha! You might even get bored of me stalking you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • ~ Sadie ~
        Jan 27, 2015 @ 12:01:21

        I doubt you could ever bore me!!!

        Like

      • charlypriest
        Jan 27, 2015 @ 12:42:01

        Well, I am quite unique that´s for sure. I don´t even bore my own mother and I´m stuck with her in this house for a long time sitting around with a cast in the freaking leg, actually don´t bore myself, sometimes I´ll give you that

        Like

  28. charlypriest
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 06:33:39

    I should add,that conveying a story that makes sense and by the way your description in the first story “Isabella” I thought it was great, so a story that has a continuity( unlike this comment) conveying quite a lot of things it is a great challenge. Great read Sadie, you´re one of the masters.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • ~ Sadie ~
      Jan 27, 2015 @ 01:25:20

      I like Isabella, too 😉 She’s even closer to my heart than Lyla is. Isabella’s story is completely different from Lyla’s – another character story I have worked on and off for many many years ❤
      One of the masters, LOL, I doubt that, but your compliment made me smile for sure – maybe even blush, Mr. Priest 😉 Thank you so much for that!! Hope you have a wonderful day and it's sunny where you are!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Comment

© ~ Sadie ~ and Windchimes and Dreamcatchers, 2013-2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to ~ Sadie ~ and Windchimes and Dreamcatchers with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.