The One She Never Forgot

I have a couple of different story lines in work. My first three posts were all related. This post is from a different story line I am working on. I realize I haven’t named them, and I may flip back and forth in tense. Bad habit I am working on 🙂

Let me know what you think . . . I need input. Having said that – try & be kind LOL!!! 😉  And thanks for reading!!

This was weird, like a flashback, coming here after all these years. She was completely shocked when he had called and asked her to meet him at his mother’s house. He had said something about his mom leaving something for her. As she pulls up, she sees he is already there and the front door is open. She knocks and he yells, “Come on in.”

As she comes through the door, he comes around the corner with that beautiful wide grin of his. He looks good, actually he looks great. As he reaches to hug her, she says, “Hey stranger! What’s going on?” At the same time, he says, “What’s up?” They hugged, a long caressing hug, implying they knew each other much better than they actually did. At the same time, they both say, “You look great!” Laughing, they walk arm in arm into the living room.

They spend the next 30 minutes engaging in small talk. How their jobs are going, and who has ran into whom where. Their conversation was good-natured, maybe almost flirtatious, bantering back and forth about this and that, and nothing in particular.

“You know I have known you now for almost 10 years.”

“Damn has it been that long?” he asked.

“Yeah – I sure wished I would’ve kissed you before you got married, ‘cause I know I’ll never get the chance now. I’ve thought it about it many times over the years – a little regret I have,” she said quite matter-of-factly, though with a joking tone. She wasn’t real sure what made her blurt that little tidbit of info out. She had kept it a secret for so long.

He shocked her when he said, “How do you know I don’t want to kiss you now more than ever?” His tone was not joking – he was serious.

At that, she just looked at him with a confused look which then turned into that sultry half-smile she gets sometimes when she is fancying something ornery or naughty. “What?”

“You heard me,” he said soft, but huskily, “How do you know I don’t want to kiss you now more than ever before?” He is looking right in her eyes with a soulful look, but his eyes have a twinkling in them.

She laughs, “I don’t know, your beautiful wife.”

He laughed slightly, “I’m talking about you right now. I’m not even thinking about her – I’m thinking about you.” He adds, “Our relationship isn’t what I thought it would be.”

“Mine & yours, or yours & hers?” she laughed.

“Both,” he replied. Now she was really intrigued, and beginning to feel warm inside with excitement, trepidation and a sensual feeling she hadn’t felt in a long time. He always made her feel sensual like this. They had never crossed the line, though – no matter how close they got, how alone they were, or how many sparks seemed to fly between them.

He had gone around the corner into what used to be his bedroom, and came out with his guitar. “I forgot about this one,” he mumbled to himself and began to strum a piece of a tune then a piece of another tune, just messing around. Then he started playing something slow. She knew she recognized it and told him to keep playing until she figured out what it was.

Just as she smiled and said, “Clapton,” he began to sing to her –

What’ll you do when you get lonely

And nobody’s waiting by your side?

You’ve been running and hiding much too long.

You know it’s just your foolish pride.

Layla, you’ve got me on my knees.

Layla, I’m begging, darling please.

Layla, darling won’t you ease my worried mind.

 I tried to give you consolation

When your old man had let you down.

Like a fool, I fell in love with you,

Turned my whole world upside down.

Layla, you’ve got me on my knees.

Layla, I’m begging, darling please.

Layla, darling won’t you ease my worried mind.

He hums and continues to strum the guitar.

Let’s make the best of the situation

Before I finally go insane.

Please don’t say we’ll never find a way

And tell me all my love’s in vain.

As he’s singing to her, she’s watching him intently. She begins to sing with him, but his intensity is beginning to blow her mind just a bit and she is frozen in that moment as he is serenading her – smiling as he finishes the song . . . .

Layla, you’ve got me on my knees …

Layla, I’m begging, darling please . . .

Then he reached over and ever so tenderly kissed her lips. This time, though she was trembling and a little shocked at his behavior, she was not to going to let the moment pass her by, as she had so many times before.

When his lips were on hers, so warm and soft and moist, she parted her lips and his tongue slipped in slightly, the tips tangoing. This was more than she could handle – she knew this was the moment she had thought about, dreamed about, had regretted not doing so many times. This was it – embrace this moment or run. She tried to think, but was so enraptured now by his kiss, his tongue dancing in her mouth, making her feel warm and wet in a place that didn’t belong to him. Her mind was not hers – not clear about right and wrong, just foggy from the heat of his body and his kiss. This kiss she had imagined so many times over the years.

“Oh my God,” she thinks, his kiss was so hot. She put her arms around his neck and his hands began to explore the curves of her body, her hips, her breasts and up her neck, in her hair. All the while, the kissing continued growing hotter and more passionate by the second. As they were standing when all this began, by now he had her pressed against the wall, with his hands in the small of her back. Her hands caressed his back, his shoulders, and his tight chest. He kissed her, going back and forth from her mouth to her neck, and whispers, “You are sooo sexy. I can’t believe it took me so long to kiss you. I love the way you kiss.”

At one point, he goes below her neckline and begins to touch and kiss her right above her breasts. He unbuttons the top button and out spilled her right breast. He stepped back as he unbuttoned the rest and then he just stood there with his mouth open. He already knew she wasn’t wearing a bra. She often didn’t when he saw her. Though he had tried to imagine what they looked like underneath her blouse many times, he had not done her justice

Nervously, she laughed and asked him, “What?”

He looked at her and smiled and told her he just needed a minute to take her all in. “You are beautiful, lady. You are beautiful. Look at you.” He is stroking her breasts, and begins to gently kiss and lick them, wandering with his lips getting closer and closer to her nipples – he stops and says, “Your tits are beautiful, perfect.”

She laughs and offhandedly commented, “You mean for someone my age.”

He looked at her and said, “No – for any age.” Then his lips slowly covered her nipples and began to give them the gentlest of kisses, with his tongue darting in and out first slowly then quicker, then slowly again. Her response was a deep sensuous moan and she wrapped her arms around his head and pulled him closer to her, leaning her head back.

After about fifteen minutes of this passionate kissing, he asked, “Now what?” with a big smile on his face. “Come to my bedroom,” he taunted her.

She whispered, almost breathlessly, “Okay.”

With that, he grabbed her hand and took her back to his old bedroom, and they fell on the bed together, kissing and exploring each other’s bodies. As they took each other’s clothes off, they tenderly caressed curves and muscles soft and firm. She had never felt this way before, and her passion for him and the thought of this illicit act almost frightened her. Almost. Instead it just fueled her flame even hotter and together they made love for hours – on the bed, against the wall, in the bathroom in front of the mirror and then back in the bed. Afterwards, they lay in each other’s arms.

“I love your scent on me,” he whispered. She smiled, snuggled closer, saying nothing, scared to break the spell in the room. This was unchartered territory for her, and she wanted to do nothing that might take her away from this moment that belonged to her.

They both notice that their bodies fit together perfectly. She loved the feel of his hands on her, one arm draped over the small of her waist.

“Your skin is so soft,” he nudges her ear, breathing in her scent, “I . . .”

Lyrics to “Layla” – © Eric Clapton

Leave a Comment

© ~ Sadie ~ and Windchimes and Dreamcatchers, 2013-2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to ~ Sadie ~ and Windchimes and Dreamcatchers with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
